Home Calendar Departments Committees Careers News


Planning & Zoning Commission

Chairman:  Jesse Lawrence
Vice Chairman: Marco Pelton
Members: Warren Hovland, Troy Knutson, Jacob Jellesed, Lance Renville, Sam Huebner, Ross Sundeen
Commission Secretary : Kaitlyn Swearson

The regularly scheduled Planning and Zoning Commission meetings are typically held on the LAST MONDAY of each month at 6:00 PM in the Heritage Room at City Hall. The regularly scheduled City Council meetings are typically held the FIRST MONDAY of each month at 6:00 PM in the Heritage Room at City Hall.   

The Planning and Zoning submittal deadline dates allow Planning Staff time to process applications prior to submitting Public Hearing Advertisements (Legal Notices) to the local newspaper. The Public Hearing items will appear in the legal section of the McKenzie County FarmerThese deadlines are subject to change as the newspaper may require the notices to be submitted earlier due to holidays. Further, submittal deadlines do not guaranty a position on the upcoming P&Z agenda. Planning staff may deem applications, supporting materials, fees and/or processing time to be inadequate. Inadequate materials, risk denial or tabling, which is in no one's best interest. In such cases, the item will be placed on the next available meeting cycle, assuming all materials are acceptable.


The following dates may be subject to change due to holidays or other circumstances:  





Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Monday, December 18, 2023

Tuesday, January 2, 2024

Wednesday, January 3, 2024

Monday, January 29, 2024

Monday, February 5, 2024

Wednesday, February 7, 2024

Monday, February 26, 2024

Monday, March 4, 2024

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Monday, March 25, 2024

Monday, April 1, 2024

Wednesday, April 3, 2024

Monday, April 29, 2024

Monday, May 6, 2024

Wednesday, May 1, 2024

Tuesday, May 28, 2024*

Monday, June 3, 2024

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Monday, June 24, 2024

Monday, July 1, 2024

Wednesday, July 3, 2024

Monday, July 29, 2024

Monday, August 5,2024

Wednesday, August 7, 2024

Monday, August 26, 2024

Tuesday, September 3, 2024*

Wednesday, September 4, 2024

Monday, September 30, 2024

Monday, October 7, 2024

Wednesday, October 2, 2024

Monday, October 28, 2024

Monday, November 4, 2024

Wednesday, November 6, 2024

Monday, November 25, 2024

Monday, December 2, 2024

Wednesday, December 4, 2024

Monday, December 30, 2024*

Monday, January 6, 2025

   *Possible date changes

Land Use Application: for Zone Change, Variance, and Conditional Use Permit.

Division of Land Application: for Subdivision Preliminary Plat, Subdivision Final Plat, and Subdivision Amended Final Plat as well as Minor Plats: Simple Lot Split (parcel map), Map of Reversion, and Boundary Line Adjustment.

Chapter XV Zoning Ordinances

Planning and Zoning Department

The Buzz

In Watford I got to go to my first National Park. I made some friends and we went to the badlands and saw things we never heard of before like jackrabbits and mule deer. In my opinion Watford is the best city ever!

~ Justice C Staton-Grade 5

© 2024 McKenzie County site by DAWA